Guest Post on ILYBYGTH

Guest Post on ILYBYGTH

I have been asked to write a series of guest posts on the blog “I love you but you’re going to hell”.  I have been following this blog almost since I first started on WordPress.  I love the balanced viewpoints that Adam Laats expresses, so I am thrilled that he has asked me to write a series on my journey from science-denying to scientist!  Go check it out and check out the rest of his blog as well!  Here is a short excerpt.

     As a scientist, it’s a bit awkward for me to confess that I used to be a science denier.  I would never have classified myself as such at the time.  I would have called myself an intelligent, well-educated, critically thinking, aspiring physicist.  Yet I was a fervent believer in 6-day Biblical creation, I staunchly disbelieved global warming, I thought homosexuality was a conscious decision to rebel against God, and I was deeply skeptical of any sort of environmental preservation initiatives, even though I was a devoted nature-lover.  Yep, I was about as bad of a science-denier as they come.

Despite all of this, I cannot think too ill of my younger self for my ignorant beliefs.  Admitting them is uncomfortable, of course, but largely because of misunderstandings in the secular and science communities regarding these sorts of beliefs and the people who hold them.  The prevailing opinion is that science-deniers are stupid, uneducated, unable to think critically, and usually just too stubborn to admit they are wrong.  I certainly am not going to excuse my former beliefs, but  I also do not believe they were a result of stupidity, stubbornness or even a lack of research or study.  The truth behind them is much deeper and more complex than most of my peers realize.  This is why I am writing; I want to chronicle my transition from science-denier to scientist, hopefully helping others understand the anti-science mindset, the actions and attitudes that contribute to it, and the attitudes from my more science-savvy peers that made my transition either easier or harder.”

Read the rest in the link above!

5 responses

  1. When one only hears one point of view while growing up, the results are predictable. Those of us who were raised in fundamentalist households respected our parents and church leaders. Like any child, we accepted what was taught to us. Not exposing children to other points of view is a mistake. We grow up and encounter the real world with no preparation. This causes much anxiety and guilt when one starts to see the validity of another point of view. We are taught that it is a sin to question what we have been taught. That is partly the reason why so many adults cling to the literal interpretation of the Bible, which is itself seen as the inerrant word of God, every single word of it.

    1. I agree. I was taught to think critically, but never given the opportunity to really apply my skills to my own worldview. When I left, I was consumed with guilt all the time. Guilt about sex, guilt about questioning my beliefs, guilt about not witnessing to my friends, guilt about having secular friends, guilt about not condemning people, guilt about not knowing something, guilt just always, everywhere, about everything. It’s horrible and totally unnecessary. Thank God I’m over most of that.

      1. What’s so painful for me is that my brother is caught up in all of that guilt. At a recent family get together he was literally in tears about what he perceives as not being zealous enough about “witnessing” to his friends and colleagues. He obsesses for hours on social media, to the neglect of time spent doing other things. He was in the hospital with chest pain, waiting to find out if he’d had a heart attack, but tweeting away on his cell phone. He believes it is his sacred duty to challenge any nonbeliever he encounters out on the web. Very disturbing, and so much the worse because I love him so much. I hate to see him living his life in fear and guilt.

      2. That is horrible! No one should fee personally responsible for the life and death of the entire world around them. That is a terrible burden to place on anyone. I think you read my post on feeling guilty if you don’t shove your religion down other peoples’ throats? You brother is just a much worse and more sad example of the same thing. I am so sorry. I hope that he leaves these destructive obsessions behind eventually.

  2. Reflecting on that stenographer who ranted

    Hello, hope everyone is doing well (or better at least). My question is this: Is the root fault of belief-abuse solely that person’s delusion or a society that enables mysticism/symbolism/ritual itself?
    Would I be blaming the victim(s)* if after the saying of their prayers I said openly, “But there is no supernatural deity to be under, shouldn’t we just admit it?” Richard Dawkins emphasizes that we should get rid of the mysticism itself in order to alleviate the delusion. As an aside I started a prelim storyboard about this a while back, “Why believing the Bible’s fairy tales IS a mental health issue!”.

    -b

    *as far as I know, the entirety of our country’s leadership. Is there an OPEN atheist among them IDK? Why these sorts of people lead our country goes without saying 🙂

Leave a Reply

