Anti-gay Christians: leave Orlando alone

I am heartbroken over the 49 lives lost in the worst mass-shooting hate crime in our country’s history.  I am sickened by the dismissive words of the murderer’s father.  I am sickened by the people who are more concerned about being allowed to own an assault rifle than the lives ended by one.  And I’m beyond sick of the people who refuse to acknowledge anti-LGBT hatred as the motive. But another thing has stood out for me that blinds me with rage, and that is Christians who want to use this tragedy to score points for their team.  I’m talking about the anti-gay Christians who want to criticize Islam for a crime they also bear responsibility for.  If you are one of those Christians, this post is directed at you.

I am not here to let homophobic Islamic theology off the hook.  By all means, lets call out, condemn, shout about, and destroy violent homophobia in Islamic ideology.  Lets amplify the voices of LGBT Muslims and ex-Muslims who wish to educate us about the harm of homophobia in Islam and the ways to make it better.  But you anti-gay, love-the-sinner-hate-the-sin Christians who want to saunter in and pretend that this somehow makes you different or better than Muslims… you are disgusting.  You are vile.  You have the morality of worm and the empathy of maggots. In no way do I want to detract from the horror of the 50 people killed in yesterday’s bloodbath. But if you want Islam to take credit for that, then you had better take credit for the roughly 1500 LGBTQ children and young adults that die every fucking year due to Christian-supported homophobia in America. Suicide is the leading cause of death among LGBT youth. In case you missed it, here it is again: suicide is the leading cause of death among LGBT youth! And you, anti-gay Christians, are directly responsible for that, as evidenced by the fact that children in non-accepting households are more than 8 times more likely to kill themselves.

FUCK you and your self-righteous, disgusting charade that Christians are love while Muslims are violence. FUCK you and your prayers to a god that you use as a weapon against their own children. FUCK you and your self-serving use of bodies of dead LGBT men and women to further their crusade of bigotry, racism, and Islamophobia. Muslims are not my enemy. YOU are.

While I hear wide-spread, nearly-unanimous condemnation of this attack from American Muslims, I hear no such thing from the majority of the American Christian establishment regarding your crimes. Instead, I see widespread hatred, trampling of our rights, disregard for our lives, dehumanization, and the blood of a thousand of our little brothers and sisters each year on their hands. And so, while I usually prefer to use my blog as a platform for calm and rational discourse, today is not a day I can do that.  You want to wrap you bloody hands, your murders, your torture, your abuse in pleasant words about how much you love the people you are killing, but I refuse to be dishonest like you.  Today I proclaim that I hate your Christianity. Let it go to its hell where it belongs.

Keep your bloody hands off of the bodies of our dead.  You don’t deserve to touch them.

6 responses

  1. Reblogged this on …..temporary…. and commented:
    Not sure I could express this better. It is absolutely TRUE for most of Christianity.

  2. Tevin Rittenhouse | Reply

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I consider myself a bible believing Christian and I try my best not to judge. Please keep in mind that not all Christians are judgmental. There is no reason to hate all of Christianity because a few rotten apples are in the mix. Same with Islam. My heart goes out to the families of the victims.

    1. I don’t hate all of Christianity, but I hate most of American Christianity. It’s not a few rotten apples. It’s an entire system of rotten apples. If you walked a mile in my shoes, you’d realize that most Christians in America are not safe people to be around. Consider yourself lucky if you haven’t been told “people like you need not apply” by Christian employers, if you haven’t been abused and thrown out by Christian family, if you haven’t been treated like shit by Christian church leaders. My heart rate jumps when I find out someone is a Christian because, in my experience, there’s a good possibility that they will fuck with me. Don’t you dare pretend that this is “a few rotten apples.” You want me to stop hating most of Christianity? Fix it.

  3. Evan, I’m just checking in on you. How is everything going? No rush in your response. I just wanted you to know I was thinking about you! Take care, heather

    1. Hi! Thanks for checking in. I’ve been okay… uncomfortably busy, but not bad. I’ve been lazy with commenting or even reading a lot of the blogs I follow these days because of all of the outreach work, doctor’s appointments, research work, and other things I’ve had on my plate of late. I have kept touch on your blog though, for the most part. I’m always happy to hear good things happening for your family. My family is a bit smaller, but I can say that my wife is doing alright, working on her art and jewelry, and my cat is happy eating, sleeping, and getting into trouble. 🙂

      1. Hi Evan, so great to hear from you! Thank you! I’m glad your life is full and sounds to be keeping you engaged in a fruitful and positive way. I’m freezing – over here! It’s winter still and I am so ready for spring! We don’t have central heating in South Africa so I’m currently sitting here typing to you in three layers! Thankfully, spring is just four weeks away! Thanks again for the quick reply. I just wanted to make sure you were doing well! Take care! And enjoy that summer weather! 🙂

Leave a Reply

